Book of Life

Available now on:

The third instalment in a trilogy of solo vibraphone recordings

· listen to It’s Magical 

· Order Book of Life 


“Berlin-based composer and vibraphonist Masayoshi Fujita released his new album Book of Life, the third installment in a trilogy of solo vibraphone recordings.

Masayoshi continues his mission in bringing the vibraphone — a relatively new invention in the history of instruments often kept in the background in orchestras and jazz outfits — into the spotlight with his new album, Book of Life. Having trained as a drummer, Masayoshi began experimenting with the vibraphone, preparing its bars with kitchen foil or beads, playing it with the cello bow, or using the other end of the mallets to create a more ambient texture of sound. Focusing on the vibraphone in this way sets Masayoshi apart, dedicating his artistic life to celebrating this fascinating and often under appreciated instrument and making his take on ambient and modern compositional styles a unique one.

“I think the vibraphone is capable of more interesting and beautiful sounds that haven’t been heard before. It’s quite a new instrument but it’s often played in a similar way. I feel that there is a lot more to explore with this exciting instrument.” — Masayoshi Fujita

Masayoshi previously released two albums under his alias El Fog. He often collaborates with other artists, most frequently with the adventurous German producer Jan Jelinek whose revered album Schaum was released in 2015. The following year, Masayoshi released his experimental Needle Six piece, a BBC Radio 3 recording of an improvised session with UK electronic artist Guy Andrews for Late Junction. In addition, his label peer and fellow Berlin resident Nils Frahm mastered Stories, providing a fitting symmetry to its re-issue on Erased Tapes now.”

· Order Stories


1. Snowy Night Tale

2. Fog

3. It’s Magical

4. Old Automaton

5. Book of Life

6. Harp

7. Mountain Deer

8. Sadness

9. Misty Avalanche

10. Cloud of Light


ERATP111, CD/LP/Download